Popularly known as the Coon Dog Cemetery, the Key Underwood Coon Dog Memorial Graveyard in Colbert County was established in 1937. The cemetery is the final resting place for more than 150 coon hounds. Despite its remote location, nearly 7,000 people visit each year.
In order for a dog to be buried at the site, the Coon Hunters’ Association must verify that the dog is an authentic coon dog. Although a pedigree or a specific breed is not required for qualification, the dog must have been a hunting dog and must have hunted raccoons exclusively.
The Tennessee Valley Coon Hunters Association hosts a celebration each Labor Day to mark the founding of the cemetery. Entertainment includes music, a liar’s contest and buck dancing. The cemetery’s interments feature headstones made of wood, granite, and natural stone. Many of the grave markers are hand chiseled by the owners. Visitors can enjoy the decorative elements of the graves as well as the dogs’ colorful names and epitaphs.